My first batch of CP soap

I bit the bullet today and made my first batch of cp soap. It was like being back in my college chemistry class. I had on safety goggles, long sleeves, rubber gloves, and the dogs were quarantined on the deck. I used a very basic 1 lb recipe since I don’t have a lot of experience and I wanted to get this first batch down first. With all the build up I have to say it was very anti-climatic. It wasn’t scary… it was pretty easy. Now, I won’t know if it worked out until tomorrow at the earliest but hey I made something and hopefully it was soap.

Here’s my soap that’s insulated with a towel just hanging out and going through saponification.

Here’s a sneak peek.  It is a very pretty deep yellow color.  I think it will be interesting to see what it looks like in a few weeks.

 

In other news I made the 1st of many stuffed animals for all my friends and fam that are having babies.

I think he turned out cute.  I made it so when it starts to fray a bit it will give him a bit of texture.  Also I used lots of pattern because patterning is important for vision development in youngins.  Anyone else crafty today?

Leave a Reply

