Castile Soap

I decided to try out one more type of soap in my CP (cold process) learning.  Since I am out of coconut butter I made castile soap.  What is Castile soap?
Castile soap is an olive oil based soap that once originated from Castile, Spain.  It produces a very hard bar of soap that is extremely gentile on the skin.

I wanted to make a bar that would help with acne and was gentile enough to be used on the face as well the body.  To do this I used a blend of essential oils that have acne fighting properties (spearmint, tea tree, rosemary, and lemongrass) and french green clay (which is good for oily skin.)  I also wanted to try to not gel this batch.  Because I live in cold Wisconsin, I placed my soap out in the garage. 

In theory if this soap works out, though I am pretty sure it did.  I will have a very hard bar of soap that is gentile on the skin.  It smells fantastic and has a nice sage green color.  This batch will cure for 6 weeks so I can test out 1 bar and the rest will cure longer.  It is said Castile soap needs a longer curing time to really become wonderful.  Patients is a virtue in soap making.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eva
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 08:07:52

    Your castile soap looks great 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

