Soap Making Frenzy

I am loving this cold process soap making.  I think eventually that will be all I do.  I love being able to control absolutely every ingredient I put in it.  For example in a basic bar of Dial there is:

Active Ingredient: Triclocarban
Inactive Ingredients: SOAP (SODIUM COCOATE*, SODIUM PALM KERNELATE*, SODIUM PALMATE*, SODIUM TALLOWATE*), WATER, TALC, COCONUT ACID*, PALM ACID*, TALLOW ACID*, PALM KERNEL ACID*, PEG-6 METHYL ETHER, FRAGRANCE, GLYCERIN, SORBITOL, SODIUM CHLORIDE, PENTASODIUM PENTETATE, TETRASODIUM ETIDRONATE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

In my cold process soap there is:

OLIVE OIL, COCONUT OIL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, CASTOR OIL

interesting in the differences huh.  I only use essential oils for fragrance and natural colorants (ex. tomato powder, french green clay).  This last weekend I made two more batches of soap.  Mint Mojito (can’t wait to try this one out!) and Star Anise.

Mint Mojito freshly poured into the mold
Star Anise freshly poured into the mold

The mint mojito has french green clay (great for oily skin), lime essential oils, and peppermint essential oils.  It smells sooooo good!  The star anise has unsweetened cocoa powder for the brown color and anise essential oil.  If you like black licorice this is your soap!  Here’s what they look like now:
on the left: Mint Mojito
on the right: Star Anise

They are curing for 6 weeks and then I cannot wait to try them out.  I am going to try a tomato powder soap this weekend I think…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolina Roman
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 09:43:20

    Those look great! I to am loving handmade soap making have been doing it for a few months now and can’t seem to stop…lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

