Dishwasher Detergent

So I am trying to make most of the things we usually buy at home.  Sometimes it’s worth the trouble sometimes I chalk it up with a learning experience.  I have been researching dish detergents for a while now.  I love using organic detergent without all of the nasty chemicals in them but they get so expensive.  I finally came up with a recipe with help of many blogs and forums and decided to give it a try.  What would it hurt right?

Here’s the recipe I used:

1 Cup Washing Soda (NOT baking soda, totally different)
1 Cup Borax
1/2 Cup Sea Salt (I used fine grain)
1/2 Cup Citric Acid
40 Drops Lavender EO
45 Drops Grapefruit EO

I put everything in a mason jar and shook it well to combine.  I just ran my first load and … It works great!  No residue, no food stuck on anything.  I am impressed.  We also do a vinegar rinse in our jet dry thing since we have hard water.  It didn’t cost me much… I had the washing soda and borax already from making my own laundry detergent.  You could use whatever EO’s you wanted but I chose mine because of their specific properties.

Lavender EO: Lavender is known to have antibacterial, antimicrobial, antiseptic, and aromatic properties (mountainroseherbs.com)

Grapefruit EO: Grapefruit is known to have antibacterial, antiseptic, and astringent properties (mountainroseherbs.com).  The citrus also helps cut grease which is nice for dishes as well.

I am surprised it worked out so well.  Usually things have to be tweaked a bit because of things like the type of dishwasher you have, type of water you have, etc.  I love it when things work out, don’t you!?!

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Cromer
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 08:46:07

    With your dishwasher powder – do you add the EO to the mix, or do you use the EO with vinegar in the rinse? Thanks

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 00:33:48

    Do you have any ideas for laundry soap? I have heard of several combinations of borax, washing soda, baking soda, vinegar, a bar of soap……But I want to use my liquid castile and glycerine sometime soon. And I’ve heard I can do castile instead of a bar of soap. Plus, I want something that is for sensitive skin. I have hard water as well. Any ideas?
    I’m so going to use your dish detergent recipe when mine runs out.
    How about dish liquid? I’ve heard hydrogen peroxide, a bar of soap, baking soda, vinegar,……….
    Can you tell I’m tired of the run of the mill soaps out there.
    I started baking bread, and I can’t stop doing things from scratch now. I love it. And your site rocks!!!

    Reply

    • veggiegrl
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 06:19:16

      Joy, Thanks for liking the site. I have moved over to a different site now that combines all aspects of my life. It’s now http://www.sleepeatheal.blogspot.com. I am not updating this one anymore. I have not traveled into liquid soap yet so I don’t have any recipes off hand. I make laundry detergent with bar soap (I make my own), borax, and washing soda. You want a bar soap that does not have any extra moisturizing in it. If you are buying bar soap you want to use felz naptha or zote. You wouldn’t use this soap on your body as it would be horribly drying. Extra moisturizing in your regular bars of soap can cause a film or build up in your washing machine.

      Reply

  3. Anne-Marie Faiola
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 13:00:20

    Love this recipe! The Lavender and Grapefruit EO’s are wonderful for a dish detergent. It gives it a wonderful scent as well as excellent cleaning properties!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

